Ten articles of faith

Be loyal to your country
Be obedient to your parents
Be loving between husband and wife
Be cooperative between brothers and sisters
Be respectful to your elders
Be faithful to your teacher
Be faithful to your friends
Face conflict with justice and honor
Never retreat in battle
Always finish what you start

One such group was the Hwa Rang (Flowering Youth), an elite warrior class created in Korea during the Silla Dynasty around the 6th century AD. The institution they formed was the Hwa Rang Do. They were generally young and well educated, coming from the noble class and with good moral character. As Hwa Rang they received instruction in literature and the fine arts and were taught the art of warfare. They were also given a code of ethics that were divided into five doctrines and nine virtues for correct living called Hwa Rang Do O Kae and Hwa Rang Do Kyo Hoon.

Tang Soo Do adopted the five doctrines and expanded them into the Ten Articles of Faith that we train by. The first five are directly from the Hwa Rang code.

For historical reference, the nine virtues of the Hwa Rang were:

Humanity – Justice – Courtesy – Wisdom – Trust - Goodness - Virtue – Loyalty - Courage